Inside Out 2: Every Emotion Grows Up

Joy, Sadness, Anger, Fear, and Disgust are back and they’re not just dealing with Riley’s teen life – they welcome a new group of emotions in town!

When we first met the emotions in Inside Out, we were introduced to Joy, Sadness, Fear, Anger, and Disgust, the first five feelings felt by Riley, a young girl back then. In Inside Out 2, the five are back and this time, we’re introduced to a teen Riley, who is about to face five new emotions every teen goes through – Anxiety, Embarrassment, Envy, and Ennui.

Photo from Pixar

Emotions also grow up

Every parent goes through the puberty stage of their child. But Joy, Anger, Sadness, Fear, and Disgust found themselves for a ride when their headquarters went through a sudden demolition. Confused over the commotion, they come face-to-face with Riley’s new set of emotions led by Anxiety. Anxiety explains that now that Riley’s all grown up and is about to embark on her junior high stint, it’s time for her to experience what a teen needs – acceptance, even if it means changing her group of friends to be accepted.

Anxiety’s ideas don’t sit well with Joy and the rest of the emotions who believe Riley should be accepted for who she is and should only have positive memories. Anxiety later throws them out of the headquarters and is taken to the emotional vault. At the emotional vault, Joy, Sadness, Fear, Disgust, and Anger come face-to-face with some of Riley’s forgotten childhood memories -Lance Slashblade and Bloofy and join forces with them to get back to the headquarters.

Joy then hatches a plan and convinces Sadness to try to stop Anxiety as she and the rest of the emotions look for Riley’s other memories. Along the way, they wonder if they can still preserve Riley’s memories. Joy at one point gives in and tells them that sometimes when one grows up being happy just gets tiring.

Photo from Pixar

Working together

Sadness was able to delay some of Riley’s movements and decisions with the help of Embarrassment but was overtaken by Anxiety. Anxiety later goes overboard in trying to take over Riley’s feelings, making the teenager go through a hard time. Joy and the rest were able to stop Anxiety from giving Riley any more problems. Riley focused on playing hockey and apologized to Grace and Bree for her behavior.

Later, the emotions are seen together helping Riley navigate her new life in her new school while still in touch with Grace and Bree. Riley is anxious as she waits for whether she will get into the hockey team.

What does the film tell us? It’s okay to feel anxious. It’s okay to feel sad, and most of all, it’s okay to feel what you need to feel. Joy herself said that it’s tiring to be positive all the time. Sometimes, growing up means change and change means feeling all emotions. It’s normal because as humans, we’re allowed to feel and express what’s inside of us.

Photo from Pixar

Inside Out 2: There’s nothing being human

In an age where expressing oneself can go overboard on social media, there is nothing wrong with feeling any emotion. Whether it be joy, sad, fear, anger, disgust, or anxiety, it’s normal to feel it. There will be moments when one will be envious, embarrassed, or meh and it’s okay. There is nothing wrong with being human.

Nothing is wrong with growing up or changing because change is the best thing to happen. When these changes happen it’s up to the person how to manage it. Change can be scary at times but to be better, one has to grow up.

Wondering if it’s worth the watch? Here’s the trailer of Inside Out 2 to help decide!

More about children’s films and shows!

Lupita Nyong’o And  Pedro Pascal Lend Their Voices In The Wild Robot

New Cells at Work Live-Action Film Incoming: What We Know So Far

First Trailer for Moana’s New Adventure Dropped

Shop for Modern Parenting's print issues through these platforms.
Download this month's Modern Parenting magazine digital copy from:
Subscribe via [email protected]